

Scheme of Delegation (last updated October 2021)

Introduction

The scheme has been developed to clarify the responsibilities and powers of governors and members of staff employed at the school in respect of key aspects of the management of the school and to ensure compliance with the articles of association. The delegations set out in this scheme are delegated to the specified committees of the governing body and post holders employed at the school.

Delegations cannot be exercised other than by the designated person or committee unless otherwise directed or agreed by the governing body. In the absence or incapacity of the Headteacher, the delegations stand delegated to the Deputy Headteacher unless otherwise directed or agreed by the governing body. In the absence or incapacity of a post holder other than the Headteacher, the delegations stand delegated to the Headteacher unless otherwise directed or agreed by the governing body.

During any period where co-headship arrangements are in place, either co-head may carry out a role designated in the Scheme of Delegation as the responsibility of the headteacher, including voting, but that if both the coheads vote then their votes shall be weighted to add up to a single vote.

Instead of exercising her/his delegated powers a post holder or committee may refer the matter to the appropriate committee or governing body. The scheme will be reviewed at the first meeting in each academic year and is made without prejudice to the powers and duties of the governing body and its committees.

All governors and committees follow the principles of Best Value and are committed to equal opportunities for all. Quorum

The quorum for any governing body meeting is one third (rounded up to a whole number) of the governing body. Articles 114 to 116 list circumstances for which different quorums apply.

The quorum for any committee meeting is three governors or committee members or, if greater, one third of the committee. In the event of there being fewer than three serving members of a committee, the quorum shall be all the members of that committee.

Every question to be decided at a governing body and committee meeting will be determined by a majority of votes of those governors and committee members present and entitled to vote. If there is an equal number of votes, the chair (or the person acting as chair provided that they are a governor) has a second, or casting vote. Votes may only be taken at committee meetings if the majority of members of the committee present are governors.



Finance, Leadership & Management

Mike West – Chair of Committee Andrew Borthwick Karen Cribb Sarah Moxon Cath Thomas

Premises, Behaviour & Safeguarding of Pupils

Brendan Carpenter Claire Dawson Ellie Long Sarah Moxon – Cath Thomas - Chair of Committee Tesfa Teferi Sara Trigg

Curriculum

Sadiq Bhanbhro Claire Matthews Viv Smith Cath Thomas Heather Waller

Full Governors

Karen Cribb – Chair of Governors Mike West – Foundation Governor – Vice Chair Cath Thomas - Headteacher

Sadiq Bhanbhro – Parent Governor Andy Borthwick – Foundation Governor Claire Dawson – Foundation Governor – Safeguarding Governor Abdool Gooljar – LA Governor Sarah Holman – Associate Governor – Deputy Head Claire Matthews – Foundation Governor Sarah Moxon – Associate Governor Guoy Niguosse – Coopted Governor Viv Smith – Foundation Governor Tesfa Teferi – Coopted Parent Governor Sara Trigg – Staff Governor Heather Waller – Parent Governor Vacancy - Foundation Governor

